Within recent days, there has been some misleading media coverage about Zoom’s privacy. Older Zoom version has for iOS devices has been using Facebook developer tools, which have passed users’ general device information (application version, language, processor type, time zone, etc.) to third parties. Any details about users identity has never been compromised. Latest version of Zoom does not user Facebook SDK anymore.
In addition, there have been claims that the meeting organizer could see what the participants are doing during the meetings. This is not the case as the organizer can only see whether the participant’s Zoom window is active or not. This feature has always been disabled by default and is now completely disabled by administration.
Zoom’s announcement here:
“Our customers’ privacy is incredibly important to us and so we decided to remove the Facebook SDK in our iOS client and have the feature configured so that users will still be able to log in with Facebook via their browser. Users will need to update to the latest version of our application at 2:30 pm Pacific time on Friday, March 27, 2020, in order for these changes to take hold, and we strongly encourage them to do so. ”
In addition to the above, it should be noted that JAMK uses Zoom as a service provided by NORDUnet (Funet Miitti), which is not entirely the same as the public Zoom. Funet Miitti has been implemented through NORDUnet in accordance with Finnish law and European data protection regulations. The information in the news regarding the transmission of telephone numbers or credit card information does not apply to Funet Miitti service. NORDUnet does not use Zoom cloud storage and Zoom does not have access to meeting video or audio.
It has also been reported that some Zoom meetings have been attended by uninvited guests or disturbed by inappropriate video footage. This is only possible if a link to an open meeting is available. The meeting organizer may restrict access to the meeting, for example by password or using login requirements. In addition, the organizer can specify whether to allow all or only registered users to join the meeting by selecting “only authenticated users can join”.
When all participants have joined the meeting, the meeting organizer can lock the room if they wish. In addition, an individual participant may be removed by the organizer during the meeting. The organizer may also limit the participants’ ability to share the screen, display video or use chat.